Thanks

11/27/2012

 
Picture
Just last week was Thanksgiving, and there's so much to be thankful for. Thankful for a great community; thankful for my family; thankful for never have gone hungry; thankful for laughter; thankful for time to sit...
I want to try and experience Thanksgiving year round. We all talk about what we are thankful for around Thanksgiving time and some of us even put on our Facebook status' what we are thankful for.
What if we did this...all the time?
A little food for thought.

Next week are finals and it's so strange to say my final first semester of college is almost over. These past 4 1/2 years have been great and I'm so thankful that I got one extra year to try and figure things out more. That's where I'm at now. What's next? Do I apply for an internship? SharpTop Year Long? Move back home to Nashville and find work? Stay in Chattanooga?
It's all in God's timing when I will find out what's next. I'm praying for patience in the midst of it.

We had our Stomp the Barn club joined with Red Bank a couple of weeks ago. It was incredible. It was so much fun to lead the square dance songs with Tess while watching our high school friends have the best night of the week. Please continue to pray for Soddy Daisy High School Young Life...that we wouldn't grow weary as leaders but lean & trust on the One who created all things. Next semester is my last semester as a Soddy Daisy High School leader (weird to read and say out loud). But I trust that the Lord is good, and that SDYL will continue to grow after Jordan and I leave. Next semester is going to be incredible! Chattanooga Young Life goes to winter camp next weekend! ACTs are that Saturday, which knocks out a lot of my girls. So I may just end up visiting SharpTop for the day on Saturday (who doesn't love to hang around at SharpTop?)  

3 years and 3 days ago, the Lord used me to save my mom. Little did I know that the Lord would use that situation to save myself. Mom and I got to celebrate our 3 year anniversary for our kidney transplant a couple of days ago (November 24th). For a lot of you that don't know this about me (many don't), this is how I came to know the Lord. While I was stubborn, selfish, and living in darkness...the Lord came and rescued me and physically rescued my mom as well. My mom had a severe kidney disease and it's weird to say that if we didn't have the surgery, she wouldn't be alive today. Lots to be thankful for. Here we both are, with 2 new lives, and I couldn't be more thankful. I think the Lord constructed the date of the surgery to be around Thanksgiving, so that while I was remembering all that I was thankful for, I could also remember when He saved me..remember how He saved her...remember how he slowly but beautifully healed her...remember how He's still taking care of her...remember that I'm more healthy now than when I had 2 kidneys..remember how He died on the cross for me and my mom to have life and have it to the fullest, and that He would do it again to prove how much He loves us...

Lots to be thankful for, and this woman is one of them...

Picture
Sweet Maria
"Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good. His love endures FOREVER." - Psalm 136:1

Love,
T

Comments are closed.