Just, You

7/31/2013

 
Picture
So, this past month has been interesting. It has definitely slowed down from the beginning of the summer. I did, however, get the opportunity to go to Cancun for 8 days, for free. 
Yes...
I said free. 
So, that has been my biggest adventure of the summer yet, and that's a pretty good adventure.
My thought process coming into the summer was 

I can't wait to go on SO many little adventures. I could go somewhere somewhat close every weekend, and then take two weeks off before leaving to make a big trip with my roommate to the Grand Canyon, and hit 38475 different states on the way there and 85694 different ones on the way back (there aren't really that many states, fyi). And I'm going to babysit A LOT and save up lots of money to pay for these trips and maybe save a little money to put towards a new computer or more camera parts. I am going to go hiking all the time, and hang out with all of my friends, since it may be my last summer here in Chattanooga ever...

I feel like God has been teaching me a lot about expectations. When you put expectations on something, you are limiting the power of God. I haven't been able to go on little trips every weekend because I don't have that kind of money (I'm not sure who would at my age), I haven't been babysitting NEARLY enough as I thought I would, which means that our trip to the Grand Canyon cannot happen. I've been hiking once this whole summer. I am a long ways away from getting a new computer (and I mean a LONG ways away); I was able to get a new camera lens (thanks Giftcard from Best Buy from Graduation). And I definitely haven't been hanging out with friends as much as I would have liked to.
So, this summer, I have had some discouraging moments on and off..
because of my expectations for this summer and the reality of this summer didn't match up.
But I think I'm right where Jesus wants me to be. 
And even though my summer hasn't been as exciting as I would have wanted it to be, I think Jesus couldn't have planned a better summer for me. I have had lots of free time...time for ME (time that is so scarce during the school year), and time for me and Jesus.

The other week I just needed to hop in my car and go for a drive...
There were some things that had happened that week, so I definitely need a good car ride to just think. In this car ride, I was trying to figure out what Jesus was trying to tell me..what He wanted from me. I kept thinking....

"What do you want from me? You want me to give you my friends? You want me to hand you my family? My car? My money? My time? You want me to work on patience? You want me to be better at giving Grace? Whatever you want me to do or be better at, just tell me what You want. I want to be better for you..."

"You..I just want YOU..."

I have been watching Extreme Weight Loss, where Chris Powell (personal trainer) will surprise someone who has written a letter to him about wanting to lose weight. This one episode stuck out to me. It was Jami's episode (go watch them ALL). Start at 5:48 and go until about 8 mins with the video below:

You can watch this from the beginning..and you should.
But i totally saw Jesus in this. The squeezing in the leotard. The ridiculous leap he does in the air. The flying out to where she was. The way he surprised her...
All to let her know he chose her...
And then when she says, "Why?"
He quickly responds, "Because you're worth it"
Jesus would squeeze into a leotard, and do a leap in the air, and run a million miles, to surprise you..to grab your attention.
All to let you know that 
YOU ARE CHOSEN.
And when you are chosen, YOU'RE CHOSEN.
There's not a list of "to-do" things. Yes, God is molding us day after day to be more like Him, more like Jesus But He is not always after you to do better, or to do more, or to be something you're not...
He is after your heart. 
He is after YOU.

Just something that has been laid on my heart. I hope that you all know how much you are loved.
And I also hope that you continue to watch that episode.
And I hope you cry,
because I did. A lot.

.."But God will redeem my life from the grave, he will surely take me to himself." -Psalm 49:15

Time and time again.
No expectations. Just Jesus,
because you never know how He will show up.

Think about it.
Love,
T

Comments are closed.