Home, Sweet Home

9/26/2013

 
26 days in at camp and I still can't believe I get to call this home.
Let me just tell you about how it's been for me the past month...
The people...are amazing.
The camp...is beautiful.
Jesus...is big, and so good to me.
My job this rotation is Guest Services. So, I get to work with the assigned teams that come on weekends (and sometimes week days), and run the rides we have available at camp (the Giant Swing, Quantum Leap, Climbing Wall). As I was hooking kids into the swing last week, I looked out onto SharpTop property and felt Jesus say to me

"Welcome home..."

I finally feel it. I finally feel at home. Among the laughter (and there's been PLENTY), the conversations about life, getting to meet new people that come onto camp property, getting invited over to property staff's houses, getting trained in my job (should have had a training on how to get rid of bears), going on adventures with my new friends/family here...
I feel at home.
Why? 

"Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the Lord your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you." -Deuteronomy 31:6

Because Jesus is here at camp with me.

I thought I had God all figured out before coming here.
"He's going to teach me how to be vulnerable. Yeah, that's it!"
Even though I am learning how to be vulnerable, that's not all He is teaching me.
I've actually figured out that He is using vulnerability as a tiny tool for something bigger.
What's that something bigger?
I'm not sure of it yet. 
And I think He wants me to be okay without knowing right now, even though He knows I love planning ahead.

I got to work the Quantum leap about a week or so ago, and the rope was not my best friend...

Not complaining at all. It was totally worth it to watch these kids conquer their fears and climb a 30 foot pole and then jump off the top, all while trusting me to catch them if they fell and when they jumped at the top.

The Quantum Leap reminded me of my journey here so far, and the rest of this year. Standing at the bottom, the Quantum Leap sounded stupid (I am afraid of heights so even standing on a chair can sound dumb to me). I didn't want to do it, but when we got Certified to Operate these rides, we all had to climb it, so everyone could practice belaying. Everyone was going up and jumping off, like it was a piece of cake, or if there was a piece of cake waiting for them at the bottom.
And then it was my turn.
I started to climb up, and wanted to immediately climb back down. 
Keep climbing.
So, I kept climbing. Questions in my head arose like "Can I trust this rope?" "What if I fall?" "I don't think I can stand up at the top, so I don't even want to try."
Keep climbing.
I got to the top before standing up on a tiny platform and said "Okay, this is great. Can I come down now? I can't do it. I can't stand up on that tiny platform. I feel accomplished enough."
Keep going. I've got you. I won't let you fall. I promise.
I trusted Jesus in that moment and 15 minutes later (literally), I stood up. I don't understand how I stood up, because the pole was shaking so much underneath me, but I did it.
And I jumped.
And it wasn't bad (this doesn't mean I will do this weekly..)

We were called for greater adventures with Jesus. He loves to challenge us, so that we cling that much closer to Him. That doesn't mean that you have to climb and jump off of a 30 foot pole every day to experience Jesus.
Here is one command that He has put on my heart this week for the year on how to experience Him...

"You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart." -Jeremiah 29:13

Seek Him.
Always.
When something scares you,
seek Him.
When something makes you laugh,
seek Him.
When something makes you happy,
seek Him.
When something makes you cry,
seek Him.
When something makes you angry,
seek Him.

Seek Him, and you will find Him. Every time.
Why?
Because wherever He has called you, He is with you saying,
"Trust me. Just keep going. I'm not going to let you fall. I've got you..."

And to me,
that's home.

Think about it.
Love,
T

Comments are closed.