Hide and Seek

4/9/2013

 
Picture
This picture is the Student Staff for 2012-2013. We finally got a picture together! And it only took a year (Bobby likes to hide when we decide to take pictures..) 
This month (along with this whole semester in general) has been so emotional for me. There are the last's...
the last leadership...
the last club...
the last team meeting...
the last finals I'll ever have to take...
the last time I'll get to play assassins...
(kind of relieved about that last one).
The more I think about being at SharpTop cove for an entire year, the more excited I get. My good friend Tess reminded me of what I have to look forward to...
"Tiff, you get to be surrounded by people who LOVE Jesus. That's what your conversations will be all the time...JESUS."
Not saying there won't be discouraging moments, because there will be, but that got me so pumped to be there. I can't wait to walk onto that camp daily and feel the presence of Jesus there...whether that is by cleaning a toilet, or by selling camp t-shirts to campers, or cleaning and folding sheets, or living in close community with 9 other interns, or making 300+ beds, or within the conversations I'll have with other people that will walk onto that camp. I'm so excited to jump into the adventures that Jesus has planned for me next year. No more hiding. 
Hiding
The definition of hiding is the act of concealing something. What do we hide from or with? We hide from the light with darkness, because we think it's safer there. Because, sometimes, when Jesus calls us to jump, we need to know certain details before we jump...
How far is the jump?
What is below me when I jump? (rocks, water)
Will someone else be there to jump with me?

What if I fall?
Can I get a net so that if I do fall, I can catch myself?
Oh man, what life would look like if we really trusted Jesus all the time without any questions...

But when Jesus calls us to jump to Him, sometimes we question whether or not we are really the ones He wants.We believe that we have to fix whatever is wrong with us first...before we could ever think about jumping. 
Isn't that why Jesus came? 
Because God knew that we weren't perfect (and didn't expect us to be), so instead of just standing on one side of the mountain, waiting for us to jump to Him, He came to the other side where you and I were to jump with us.
Chills thinking about this. 
I feel like this semester Jesus has been teaching me so much about His Love. This semester of change..He's not expecting me to do it alone. He is walking with me every step of the way, never letting go of my hand. No matter how many times I try hide from Him to stay in this comfortable situation, or try to run away, kick and scream like a little kid, pout and cry, He will never let go.
Why? Because I am His BELOVED,
and so are you. 
He knows this next season of life will be so good for me...it will transform me, if I let it. 
I hide to avoid jumping.
He seeks and tells me it's okay.
I hide again because of my fear.
He seeks again and tells me it's okay.
I hide because of the fear of the unknown.
He seeks again and tells me it's okay.

Do you get it?

He will never get tired of playing this game with you. BECAUSE YOU ARE HIS.

"But now, this is what the Lord says- he who created you, O Jacob, he who formed you, O Israel: "Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have summoned you by name; you are mine."" -Isaiah 43:1

You are His, and He is relentless.
Hallelujah.
Love, 
T


Comments are closed.